New Version of Linx - FAQS

The new version of Linx is out. Lean more how this change affects current users.

Why are we making this change?
We are growing up! Our user base has increased 470% from 12 months ago and we are putting in more and more effort to ensure a world-class development environment for you to use. These changes are a natural progression for a growing product.

What about my old version?
There are no changes to your current version of Linx (Version 5.13) or to any solutions you have built or have running in your business. Everything will continue to work exactly as it is now and you should not experience any changes to your current setup. We are simply releasing a new version of Linx.

What’s in the new version of Linx?
The new version is packed with great new features and developments. The biggest change is that the Designer and Server will be split on download and offered independently from each other. Head on over to our blog to read more about our other new features & improvements or view our new pricing.

Why the new Server?
The new Server is leap forward in our product roadmap and goes a long way in creating a stable base for future feature developments that match our clients' demands for a modern computing experience. By separating the Server, users can safely run solutions developed by different Designer versions. Another simple benefit is the ability to update the Designer or Server independently, ensuring the latest functionality, features and fixes are delivered and implemented as efficiently as possible.

Most importantly, one of the most important drivers in splitting these services was to lay the foundations for the development of a Linx Cloud Server - due to be released later in 2018.

What is the new pricing?
Linx is adjusting our pricing to more accurately reflect the value users get from our tool. Our new pricing structure can be found here.

Now that you are introducing pricing, will I be charged?
Grandfathered users will continue to enjoy their current version of Linx for free, forever. However if you wish to upgrade to the latest version, you will need to download the new Designer and select one the priced packages offered.

How do I upgrade to the new version?
The new release and all it’s new features, can be downloaded here. 

What about the Solutions I have running presently?
Fear not! Solutions built in the previous versions of the Designer will be automatically updated when they are opened in the new Designer. Nothing - absolutely nothing - will change with your current version. It will still work and will be free forever.  If you want to use the new version you will need to run them side by side (i.e, 2 designers and 2 Servers. You will recognise the new version by it’s new grey “L” icon). We've also written this handy post in the community if you want to run old solutions on the new Linx Server.

 

Need more info?  Contact us if you require any further information on pricing, how it works or simply need help with any of our product plans.

Scroll to top